Album of the Moment: Tres Cabrones

trescabrones

Even though I’m actually a big fan of the Melvins, I don’t necessarily stay up to date with what it going on with these guys. However, when I found out that they had released a new album, I made sure to go check it out.

I’m glad I did. Tres Cabrones, which was released Tuesday, November 5 on Ipecac, is the umpteenth offering by the Pacific Northwest-based sludge-metal band.

For true Melvins fans, this album will not disappoint. It is classic Melvins from start to finish. The band’s tried and true formula of slow-paced, heavy sounds is just as apparent on this new album as it has been since they started their music career some 30 years ago.

Album Highlights:

Dr. Mule. City Dump. American Cow. Psychodelic Haze. I Told You I Was Crazy. Stump Farmer.

Reviews of Tres Cabrones around the web:

Review on Consequence of Sound by Adam Kivel

Review on Soundlab

Review on Metal Injection by Jeremy Ulrey

Review on NME by Noel Gardner
Check out my Melvins discography here.

One thought on “Album of the Moment: Tres Cabrones

  1. Pingback: Top 13 Albums of 2013 | Otter Limits

Leave a Reply

