I Think It’s Time to Go

I have all but decided that I am done with the GOP.

This government shutdown thing is really irritating the piss out of me. I partially do blame the GOP, and not because of something I saw or read through the “liberal” media. I don’t even read or watch most of the mainstream media.

The GOP is and has been acting like children. Actually I take that back. They’ve been acting worse than children because my kids aren’t even this careless.

That being said, I’m not saying that the Republican Party is entirely too blame. And I’m not saying that the Democrats in Congress aren’t partially to blame as well. I’m just saying that the GOP needs to take responsibility for their part in it.

But that’s not the only reason I’m just about done with the GOP. I’ve been working with what you might call the inner circle of the Oklahoma County GOP for a while now and the way they conduct themselves quite frankly just pisses me off. I’m not going to go into any details but I will say that the issues that they discuss in their private meetings are a complete joke. They don’t have discussions about anything that really matters and when somebody in these meetings does bring up something of substance, the subject gets blown off.

The GOP, on the local, state and national level, with very few exceptions, is not trying to change things for the better.  They are just trying to solidify and perpetuate their own dominance in politics.

I just think that I might be better off becoming an Independent despite the fact that I won’t be able to participate in any primaries. At this point, I don’t think I care about the primaries anymore. I’m just sick of having to hold my nose and “pull the lever” (so to speak) at the ballot box.

I am a libertarian in principle (and what I would call a pragmatic libertarian at that) and a Republican according to my voter registration card and according to the political “circles” that I have been associating with.

I think it might be time to rid myself of the “shackles” of partisan politics once and for all and focus on principles rather than parties. I think I have overstayed my welcome. I think it’s time to pack my bags and say in the immortal words of South Park’s Cartman, “Screw you guys, I’m going home.”

2 thoughts on “I Think It’s Time to Go

  1. Welcome to the club, Steve. I concluded some years back that both of the two major political parties are so entrenched and corrupt that they serve only the one percent and themselves. Ordinary people receive little or no representation from either of them. We need a major overhaul of our political system, and we can begin by creating new, viable political parties to compete with and rob membership from the two major ones. Libertarians, Greens, Constitutionalists, Conservatives (real ones), Liberals (real ones), and Social Democrats should be encouraged to get into the fray. Until the two parties who have maintained a monopoly on political power since the end of the Civil War are broken up and reorganized, common people have little hope of any real change or improvement in this country.

  2. Pingback: Elephant Off My Back | Otter Limits

Leave a Reply

