Politics…… Is it all just a shell game?

Politics…… Is it all just a shell game?
by Robert Routt

Have you ever noticed that in the modern American political system that no matter which side wins, we all lose? I ask this because it is a slow and painful revelation to me.

It seems today in our current political climate we no longer have a two-party system.  It seems more and more that both parties, at least in DC , have the same goals they just have a different route in mind to get us to the same place.  The only thing that ever seems to change is the money train.  Instead of two completely separate parties with genuine ideas, each has become basically the different half of the same coin.  After all a Quarter is still a Quarter regardless of if you see heads or tails.

The Democrats decry big business and the corporatism that has become America while secretly lining the pockets of those who voted them in power.  Oh and please don’t be fooled the Republicans do the same thing….. The only difference is the outstretched  hands depending on which party has the reigns of power.

Sadly it reminds me of one of my favorite video games from the 90’s “Dues Ex”. Perhaps you’ve heard of it? Not the newest one I haven’t played it yet.  It’s a futuristic game where you basically get to decide to follow the government line and be a good citizen and all that entails, or you can be a freedom fighter.  The downside? (Spoiler alert), No matter which path you choose you ultimately find out you are working for the same people behind the scenes (spoiler over). A rather well-known fact is people love to feel like they have choices. Look at the Cola wars; (OK not literally); but still we have how many different flavors to choose from? Most of which are made by the same few companies.  I am starting to feel our government has begun to operate under the same premise: Let us come out and vote every so often so we feel we are making a choice and then regardless of who wins things stay basically status quo.

I mean look at all the promises Obama made and I’m not going to go through the litany of them, but he basically continued most of the policies of Bush 43 and took some of them and put them on steroids.

That isn’t what he told people he was going to do if he got elected, yet somehow he gets a second term.  Not much has changed so far in this one either.  He has made executive order after executive order, he has suspended parts of The Affordable Care Act; commonly referred to as Obama Care which is illegal by the way, in case you didn’t know. Sadly I fear no matter who wins in both 2014 and 2016 the same policies will be continued.

So I ask in closing the same question I asked in opening, because sadly I have no answer. Has politics become a shell game?

5 thoughts on “Politics…… Is it all just a shell game?

  1. Hi there! This post couldn’t be written any better!
    Reading this post reminds me of my previous room mate!
    He always kept chatting about this. I will forward this post to him.

    Pretty sure he will have a good read. Thank you for sharing!

  2. Have you ever thought about writing an ebook or guest authoring on other websites?

    I have a blog based on the same subjects you discuss and would really like to
    have you share some stories/information. I know my viewers
    would enjoy your work. If you’re even remotely interested, feel free to shoot
    me an e mail.

  3. Definitely believe that which you stated. Your favorite justification seemed to be on the web the simplest thing to be aware of.

    I say to you, I definitely get annoyed while people consider worries that they just do not know about.
    You managed to hit the nail upon the top and defined out the whole thing
    without having side effect , people can take a signal.
    Will likely be back to get more. Thanks

  4. This design is spectacular! You certainly know how to
    keep a reader entertained. Between your wit and your videos, I was almost moved to start my own blog (well,
    almost…HaHa!) Fantastic job. I really enjoyed what you
    had to say, and more than that, how you presented it.
    Too cool!

Leave a Reply

