Top Albums of 2011

Well I figured it was about the right time of year to put this list out.

This list is sorted in descending preferential order. That is, the very best album of 2011 is #1 and #7 is the 7th Best Album of 2011. Get it? Good. So here it is without further fanfare………..

The Top 7 Albums Released in 2011:

 


7………..Born Yesterday – Otisburg
 
Ok, so putting this one of this one on the list is mostly just a shameless plug but hey, it’s my list, bite me. LoL!
Also, this album probably shouldn’t be on this list because it was originally released in 2007 but it was re-issued by Suburban Empire Records in December with a couple of extra tracks.
If I had to pick a favorite song of my own on this album, it would really have to be the opening track “Goodbye California.” Others have mentioned that the song “Hey Jennifer” is their favorite so I guess that is a good one too.

 

 


6………..Carnival of Schadenfreude – Screeching Weasel
 
Yeah, so the guy is a colossal jerk but he still knows how to write a catchy tune!
This one was released in November. In 2011, Screeching Weasel also released First World Manifesto but it really wasn’t as good as Carnival.
My favorite tracks on this album are “Carnival of Schadenfreude” “The Parasite Murders” and “No Reason to Lie”

 

 

5………..Going Out in Style – Dropkick Murphys
 
I remember being very excited that this album was coming out. When it was finally released, I can definitely say that I was not disappointed. It was released in March.
Favorites on this one were the title track, “Peg o My Heart” and “The Irish Rover”

 

 

 

4………..iTunes Sessions with Gaslight Anthem
 
I’m not really sure if this should really be included on this list either because it was not exactly a traditional release. That is, there was no physical presence of this album. It was digital only and you could only get it on iTunes. But, as I said before, it’s my list, get over it.
This one was released by iTunes in October.
2011 was the year that I actually got into Gaslight Anthem. In fact, over the past few months, they have been quickly climbing up my favorite bands list ladder.
My favorites on this release are a cover of The Who’s “Baby O Riley,” a cover of Tom Petty’s “Refugee” (quite honestly, they put the original version to shame), another cover of Pearl Jam’s “State of Love and Trust” (very good job by them), and a stripped down version of their own “Boxer” which was originally released on American Slang. There is also an interview with Brian Fallon on here that is pretty cool.

 

3………..Taking Back Sunday – Taking Back Sunday
 
This album was released in June and reunites the lineup from their first album, 2002s Tell All Your Friends. I have to say that this album might even be better than 2009s New Again, which I thought was a really good album. I only just recently found out that this album was released and strangely have not been able to absorb all of it but what I have heard definitely earned it a high spot on this list.
My favorites on the album right now are “Faith” “Sad Savior” “Since You’re Gone” and “You Got Me”

 

 


2………..Wasting Light- Foo Fighters
 
Wasting Light is the band’s first studio release since 2007s Echoes, Silence, Patience and Grace. An interesting fact about this album, which was released in April, was recorded in Dave Grohl’s garage, as opposed to a fancy studio. The idea behind this was that they wanted to get back to being a rock band. I have to say Dave Grohl is a pretty amazing songwriter and often comes up with some really great gems. Wasting Light is no different. Really good album all around.
My favorites on it are “Walk” “Bridge Burning” and “Back and Forth”

 

And the pick for #1 Album of 2011 goes to………………………………………………………………………………..

 


This Is Only a Test – Smoking Popes
What can I say? Great band. Great album. So glad that this band got back together. Really glad that I got to see them perform at Oklahoma City’s Conservatory. I did a review of this album back in July on this blog so you can check it out by clicking here.
This album is packed full of such great material picking my favorites was pretty hard but I would have to say that the main favorites are “Diary of a Teen Tragedy” “This Is Only a Test” “College” and “Punk Band.”

2 thoughts on “Top Albums of 2011

Leave a Reply

