Top 5 Bands

I haven’t done one of these lists in a while and since the list has updated somewhat, I figured it would be a good time to put it up here on The Otter Limits.

These are my 5 Favorite Bands, not really listed in any particular order….well, somewhat in order of preference but not 100% on that.

Formed in 1976 in Dublin, Ireland.
Bono – vocals; The Edge – guitar, vocals; Adam Clayton – bass; Larry Mullen Jr – drums.
Studio Albums:
Boy – released in 1980 by Island Records.
October – released in 1981 by Island.
War – released in 1983 by Island.
The Unforgettable Fire – released in 1984 by Island.
The Joshua Tree – released in 1987 by Island.
Rattle and Hum – released in 1988 by Island.
Achtung Baby – released in 1991 by Island.
Zooropa – released in 1993 by Island.
Pop – released in 1997 by Island.
All That You Can’t Leave Behind – released in 2000 by Island/Interscope.
How to Dismantle an Atomic Bomb – released in 2004 by Island/Interscope.
No Line on the Horizon – released in 2009 by Interscope.

Dropkick Murphys
Formed in 1996 in Quincy, Massachusetts.
Current Members:
Al Barr – vocals; Ken Casey – bass, vocals; Matt Kelly – drums; James Lynch – guitar; Scruffy Wallace – bagpipes; Tim Brennan – guitar; Jeff DaRosa – acoustic guitar, piano.
Former Members:
Marc Orrell – guitar; Spicey McHaggis – bagpipes; Ryan Foltz – mandolin; Rick Barton – guitar; Mike McColgan – vocals; Jeff Erna – drums.
Studio Albums:
Do or Die – released in 1997 by Hellcat Records.
The Gang’s All Here – released in 1999 by Hellcat.
Sing Loud Sing Proud – released in 2001 by Hellcat.
Blackout – released in 2003 by Hellcat.
The Warriors Code – released in 2005 by Hellcat.
The Meanest of Times – released in 2007 by Born & Bred Records.
Going Out in Style – released in 2011 by Born & Bred.

Formed in 1978 in Hermosa Beach, California.
Current Members:
Milo Aukerman – vocals; Bill Stevenson – drums; Karl Alvarez – bass; Stephen Egerton – guitar.
Former Members:
Tony Lombardo – bass; Frank Navetta – guitar; Ray Cooper – guitar; Doug Carrios – bass.
Studio Albums:
Milo Goes to College – released in 1982 by New Alliance Records.
I Don’t Want to Grow Up – released in 1985 by New Alliance.
Enjoy! – released in 1986 by New Alliance/Restless.
All – released in 1987 by SST.
Everything Sucks – released in 1996 by Epitaph Records.
Cool To Be You – released in 2004 by Fat Wreck Chords.

Face to Face
Formed in 1991 in Victorville, California.
Current Members:
Trevor Keith – guitar, vocals; Chad Yaro – guitar, vocals; Scott Shiflett – bass, vocals; Danny Thompson – drums.
Former Members:
Pete Parada – drums; Rob Kurth – drums; Matt Riddle – bass.
Studio Albums:
Don’t Turn Away – released in 1992 by Dr Strange Records.
Big Choice – released in 1994 by Victory Music.
Face to Face – released in 1996 by A&M Records.
Ignorance is Bliss – released in 1999 by Beyond Records.
Reactionary – released in 2000 by Vagrant Records.
Standards and Practices – released in 2001 by Vagrant.
How to Ruin Everything – released in 2002 by Vagrant.
Laugh Now, Laugh Later – scheduled to be released in 2011 by Antagonist Records.

Alkaline Trio
Formed in 1996 in McHenry, Illinois.
Current Members:
Matt Skiba – vocals, guitar; Dan Andriano – vocals, bass; Derek Grant – drums.
Former Members:
Rob Doran – bass; Glenn Porter – drums; Mike Felumlee – drums.
Studio Albums:
Goddamnit – released in 1998 by Asian Man Records.
Maybe I’ll Catch Fire – released in 2000 by Asian Man.
From Here to Infirmary – released in 2001 by Vagrant Records.
Good Mourning – released in 2003 by Vagrant.
Crimson – released in 2005 by Vagrant.
Agony and Irony – released in 2008 by Epic Records.
This Addiction – released in 2010 by Epitaph Records.

Honorable Mention

Formed in 1992 in Los Angeles, California.
Current Members:
Rivers Cuomo – vocals, guitar, keyboards; Brian Bell – guitar, vocals; Scott Shriner – bass, vocals; Pat Wilson – drums.
Former Members:
Jason Cropper – guitar, vocals; Matt Sharp – bass, vocals; Mikey Welsh – bass, vocals.
Studio Albums:
Weezer – released in 1994 by DGC.
Pinkerton – released in 1996 by DGC.
Weezer – released in 2001 by Geffen.
Maladroit – released in 2002 by Geffen.
Make Believe – released in 2005 by Geffen.
Weezer – released in 2008 by DGC.
Raditude – released in 2009 by DGC.
Hurley – released in 2010 by Epitaph Records.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s