Album Review: Come Around Sundown

>

Released on Tuesday, October 19, the new Kings of Leon album, Come Around Sundown. It debuted at #1 on both the Irish and Belgian Albums charts and got 4 stars (out of 5) in its review by Rolling Stone magazine.

I think it builds fairly well on the last album, Only By The Night.

Much like Only By The Night, this album contains some songs that, musically, remind me of U2.

My favorite songs on the album are “The End” “Radioactive” “Pyro” “Mary” “The Face” “Pickup Truck” and “The Immortals.” The song “Mary” has an interesting 50s style rock sound to it in a way. Kind of hard to explain it, you’ll have to listen to it for yourself to understand what I mean.

I only just started listening to the band a few weeks ago actually. I had previously heard some songs of theirs prior to that but they never really struck much of a chord with me. For some reason, however, I decided to give them a more serious listen recently.

The first few albums of theirs I am still not terribly impressed with. Quite honestly, they sound like something along the lines of the Allman Brothers or Lynyrd Skynyrd and quite frankly, if I want to hear that, I’ll listen to the Allman Brothers or Lynyrd Skynyrd rather than some knockoff band. Sorry guys.

Somewhere along their career progression, the King of Leon that is, they went through some sort of musical transformation and I am pretty glad they did.

The only problem that I have with the new CD is, in contrast to Only By The Night, it has more filler songs on it. Keep in mind though that it is quite possibly that I just have not fully absorbed the entire album yet.

My recommendation to anybody reading this that has not heard the new album is to definitely give it a listen. However, for those of you not familiar with KOLs work, I’d recommend listening to Only By The Night first.

Leave a Reply

