The End of an E.R.a

So tonight is the last episode of E.R.

Do I care? Well, yes…and no.

You see, I have been watching this show since its first season. I remember where I was when I watched this show the first time I watched it. I was living at an Air Force Base in Texas at the time. My roommate was a surgical assistant and was going on and on about how much he loved this show. I myself had never even heard of the show. But after watching that first episode I was hooked.

Hey! That’s the guy from Revenge of the Nerds on there playing a doctor! That’s cool!

To this day I don’t understand why I liked this show. I am not near smart enough to understand most of what is going on with it. In its early days, if you remember, there was a lot of medically technical stuff going on. Medical shows are pretty lame in my opinion. And on top of that, I am not really a big fan of most “drama” shows and this one was a lot like a night time soap opera in some ways. Be that as it may, I really liked this show and continued watching.

I missed a season or two, I don’t remember which ones, but I have been watching since season one and have not missed a whole lot.

Me and Jesica have always watched this show together. It’s our thing. Thursday night. Watch E.R.

So in a way. It is like a piece of my own history is going away. And that is why I care.

However………the last few seasons have not been worth a crap so for these last couple I have only been watching out of habit. That is about it. The show really has been on its last leg and I am not surprised it is ending.

And that is why I don’t care that it is ending.

It has run for 15 seasons and is NBCs 2nd longest-running drama (after Law & Order). It began in September 1994 and as far back as I remember has always ran on Thursday nights.

The original case was Anthony Edwards (the Revenge of the Nerds guy), George Clooney (yes, that George Clooney), Sherry Stringfield, Noah Wyle, and Eric La Salle. None of these actors have stayed with its show for its entire run. The last one to leave the show of this original group is Noah Wyle. However, Edward, Clooney, Wyle and La Salle have all made cameos in this last season (Edwards showed up in a flashback due to the fact that his character actually died of a brain tumor several seasons back – Season 8 in 2002).

Over its years, it won an Emmy for Outstanding Drama Series in 1996 and has been nominated for that award in 1995 and each year from 1997 to 2001.

In its 1st season it was ranked by viewers as #2. Seasons 2, 3,  and 5th were ranked #1.
And tonight is the end of the line for this long running show.

It really has been a good show up until the past couple of season.

But here it is, the end of the line for this long running award winning television series.

Goodbye ER. I think I might miss you. Only time will tell.

One thought on “The End of an E.R.a

  1. I always preferred Chicago Hope. In fact one time Chicago Hope did a spoof of ER that was hilarious. The plot was that a camera crew was going to follow the folks in the hospital around and then make a show about it. Well when they did the opening for the show it was a shot for shot take/spoof of the original ER opening credits sequence. It was so flipping funny. I really wish Chicago Hope would come out on DVD.

Leave a Reply

