America: Love It AND Hate It?

I got the inspiration for this post from a Descendents song titled ‘Merican.

America is a great place. But it sucks too.

There are many great things that have come out of the United States. To name a few, freedom of religion, freedom of speech, the airplane, jazz, baseball, I can go on.

On the flip side, there are some really horrible things that have come out of America too. The KKK, McCarthyism, the nuclear bomb, and the perpetuation of war. Again, I could go on but you get the picture.

The point, which is made quite clear from the song, is that there are many things to be proud of as an American. But there are also many things to be ashamed of as an American.

Every time I see a bumper sticker that says “American, Love It or Leave It!” I think, what a big pile of dog crap. I don’t have leave. Why should I? If there is something about this country I want to gripe about, I have every right to gripe about it. Why should I leave because there is something about our nation I don’t like? Just to make those full blown flag waving nothing is wrong with our country people feel comfortable? Heck no! If you don’t like what I have to say, don’t talk to me. Don’t read my stuff. Stick it! But don’t tell ME to leave.

Just because I (or any other person) hates certain aspects of this country or something that our nation does, whatever that might be, does not mean I just out right hate the country.

I am proud to be an American. I am proud to claim citizenship of this great country. I’m not leaving. I love it. But it sucks sometimes too.

America. I can love it AND hate it. So get over it.

5 thoughts on “America: Love It AND Hate It?

  1. ahhh but Otter, we are experiencing the “change” everyone has been craving. The sky is brighter, the birds are singing a little louder…fascism is in the air … time to celebrate comrade!

  2. Personally, I think we are experiencing (so far) almost exactly what type of change we were going to get when the one was first elected. Absolutely nothing. Business as usual.

  3. Cheer up comrade, we’re getting socialized medicine, socialized banking industry, government run auto industry, union control, taxing the rich and feeding the poor… ahhhh, utopia, ain’t life grand?

Leave a Reply

