Movie of the Moment: Gangs of New York

I watched this movie last night and at the end of it the only thing I could think to say was, “Well self, there’s 2 hours and 45 minutes of your life you’ll never get back.”

The movie wasn’t horrid, per se, it was just, well, really really boring.

The storyline was likeable enough, it really sounded like it was going to be interesting but while sitting in the living room watching it, it just wasn’t.

The acting seemed really subpar to me, with the exception of Liam Neeson’s character that is only in the movie for the first 5 minutes. I don’t think Martin Scorcese had this one cast really well either (again, with the exception of Neeson). Leonardo DeCrapio (LOL) didn’t seem to fit in the role he played and I’m not really a huge Daniel Day-Lewis fan so his character did nothing for me. Even Cameron Diaz as the pick-pocket love interest in the film seemed to just be there.

I dunno, this is definitely not a movie I would recommend anyone seeing unless they have almost 3 hours to kill, and even then, I would tell them to go take a walk or something instead, or go hang out in a Wal-Mart during Christmas season.

If you have seen this movie, I’m sorry that you had to go through that. If you have NOT seen this movie, stay away!!!

Leave a Reply

