A long time ago………..

So the new Star Wars movie is coming out next week. I’m pretty excited about it coming out. I’ve seen the trailers and it looks really good.
However, I will not be going to see it on opening night. In fact, I might not even go see it opening weekend at all, I will probably wait a week or two before going to see it. I’m still kind of torn on all that though. One the one hand, I wouldn’t have to deal with all the kids and crowds packing the theaters to see during it’s first weekend run. But on the other hand, if I wait too long, I have to deal with everyone who did go see it that weekend telling me all about it. “Shut up! I haven’t seen it yet! Shut up!” You get the idea. Than again, I have seen the trailers, I have read quite a few of the spoiler web sites, and in the long run, I do know what happens in the end.
After seeing the trailers it definitely looks like it’s going to be better than Episode 1 and 2.
I saw Episode I: The Phantom Menace on opening day, in fact, I went to see the first ‘midnight’ showing. I liked it in the respect that it was Star Wars and I’m big Star Wars geek, but in some ways, it was really disappointing to me. I really could have done without the Jar Jar Binks character. I thought Darth Maul was kind of a lame villain. Not only because I thought they didn’t really develop him much as a character, but also because they killed me off so quickly, thus not giving him any time to develop.
I didn’t go see Attack of the Clones on opening weekend, I remember it coming out, and I remember wanting to see it on opening weekend, but I don’t remember what I was doing that weekend that caused me to not be able to see it that weekend. I ended up seeing it like a week after it came out.
I liked that one way better than Phantom. The actor playing Anakin was so much better (although I still think I would have picked someone else). The plot was so much cooler. The villains were way cooler. Not including Count Dooku, that guy is a dork. I mean guys like Jango Fett. Another thing that made this movie much better was, in one sentence: Yoda fighting with a light saber. How could you possibly top seeing a little green gnome taking on a Lord of the Sith saber to saber? That’s so awesome.
I’ve read the news and reviews about Revenge and how it’s disappointing because it’s so much darker than the others. Well obviously it’s darker than the others! First of all, Anakin turns to the dark side for Pete’s sake! All of the Jedi (yeah I know, except for Obi-Wan and Yoda) are going to die! Mace Windu, gone! The Jedi Council, gone! I mean, look at the name of the movie, it’s called REVENGE of the Sith! Of course, it’s going to be dark; Lucas had to make it dark to make his point.
So, I’m looking forward to seeing the movie, but I’m also kind of sad to see the saga end. But that’s what the novels and comic books are for I guess.
Go check it out. When you see it, let me know what you thought of it.

Leave a Reply

