P.O. Box and a Pager

You ever notice how funny life can be sometimes? Especially when it comes up with those quirky little moments that just bite you in the rear end and show you how much you aren’t in control. It’s just funny how thing like that happen sometimes.

They happen mostly just to keep you on your toes I suppose. Things are really a mess sometimes though. For instance, let me tell you how messed up my life has been lately.

To begin with, I need to explain exactly what my life is right now. My life consists of a P.O. Box and a pager. I am willing to bet that this statement does not make any sense to you. Let me explain. At this point in time I do not have a place to live. I have been bouncing back and forth between so many houses since I’ve been back in Oklahoma City and still dont’ have a place of my own. To tell you the truth, it’s not that I can’t afford because I’m pretty sure I make enough money to afford a place to live. I just haven’t bothered to go through the process of actually looking for a place to live. Not quite laziness you see, it’s just that I’ve been so busy with other matters in my life that I haven’t gotten around to it. So basically, I just live in my car and at other people’s houses, wherever I can find room. So I don’t have a permanent residence, hence the P.O. Box. I agree that it is quite sad. Since I do not have a residence I do not have a phone. So that is where the pager comes in. So if people decide for some reason that they need to get in touch with me they can do so. So my pager is essentially my phone.

So here I am, living with no house and no phone. Just a P.O. Box and pager.

Even though I do not live anywhere, there is a house where I keep some stuff since I can’t really store all of my stuff in my car. Perhaps I should consider purchasing a truck or a sport utility vehicle. If I did that, I wouldn’t need to store any of my stuff at someone else’s house. I don’t really have much and a truck or SUV would probably give me enough room to store it all.

The next question you might be asking is where does this guy sleep? Good question. Usually, it is on somebody’s couch, or floor, or love-seat, or chair. Whatever it is they happen to have that I can sleep on. The last couple of days I’ve actually been sleeping in a bed, but it looks like I might be going back to couches. Oh well, not like I’m used to it.

Let me reiterate some major points. Life is goofy. My life consists of a P.O Box and a pager. Well, those and my car. I can’t forget the car. So my life consists of a car, a P.O. Box and a pager.

And as pathetic as this all sounds. I’m fairly content with it for now. Lately, I’ve been pretty content with the way things are going. I haven’t had any really major gripes in a while. However, even though I am content with this quasi-existence I am starting to realize that there is something wrong with this life I’m leading. Although usually I don’t really care what other people think. This particular idea is starting to make me wonder: Should I get a life and let things happen as they happen and take them for what they are? Or should I disregard all this and continue the way I’m going?

Interesting food for thought. Very perplexing.

Leave a Reply

